The Musée maritime du Québec – Capitaine J.E. Bernier is a non profit organization founded in 1968 by the “Association des marins de la vallée du St-Laurent”.
The Musée maritime du Québec is the largest museum of its kind in Québec and Canada. Proprietor of the national maritime collection of Québec, the Musée owns a large variety of artefacts and ancient documents that relate to all sorts of maritime events as well as two life-sized ships. Moreover, the Musée is one of the first cultural organizations involved in the conservation and the enhancement of historical ships. Its mission is to safeguard, study and enhance the maritime heritage relating to the St. Lawrence River, from the gateway of the Great Lakes to the high seas, including the Arctic territory.
The museum perpetuates the memory of Captain Bernier through the naming of its principal building, the Pavillon J.E. Bernier. A son of L’Islet, career navigator, Captain Joseph-Elzéar Bernier distinguished himself by asserting Canada’s sovereignty over the Arctic territory. He was an example of competence and determination for many sailors and citizens of the country, and he enjoys national recognition.
The museum is located in a convent constructed in 1877, formerly owned by the Soeurs du Bon-Pasteur. The building was completely renovated in 2010 and meets all current museum-related standards. The three storeys of the museum and the boathouse house a fascinating variety of exhibits on Quebecois and Canadian maritime culture.
Stride along the hiking trails of the Park that provide a magnificent view of the St. Lawrence. The proximity of this majestic waterway will not leave you unmoved. Admire the diversified landscape of the archipelago of the Îles de Montmagny, emerging like isolated points of land. This panorama extends to the Laurentians on the North Shore. An enchanting décor where culture, maritime history and nature come together.