Temporary exhibitions

Ships that sailed nowhere 

New temporary exhibition sponsored by Hydro-Québec 

ExpoBP_instagram

 

133 years of history

In all weather and under difficult conditions, brave men dedicated their lives to protecting the lives of fellow sailors.  Ships that sailed nowhere presents the unique lifestyle aboard these ships tasked with a very special mission: signaling the invisible presence of danger. Project manager, designer, writer, curator and maritime heritage specialist Alain Franck states, “The exhibition showcases a truly overlooked aspect of Quebec’s maritime history presented here to the general public.” It is based on extensive research documented in the publication, Les bateaux-phares du Saint-Laurent en aval de Québec1830-1963 by authors Jean Cloutier and Jean-Pierre Charest.

Artefacts never before presented to the general public

The exhibition focuses on the technical and architectural evolution of the lightships, yet provides a fascinating human snapshot with interesting quotes by the last witnesses to this bygone era and a unique presentation of the different stations along the river and the lightships assigned to them, from the southern channel of the St. Lawrence Estuary to the eastern tip of Ȋle d’Anticosti.

The exhibition presents some 25 artefacts originating mainly from former sailors having worked on the lightships and from the MMQ collection. Some are being presented to the public for the first time, including the logbook and navigation instruments of Captain Alfred Couillard, a native of Montmagny and the great- grandfather of the current Premier of Quebec; a ship’s wheel, one of the rare material vestiges of a lightship of this vanished epoch; photos and six models of ships crafted, for the most part, during the sailors’ spare time aboard the lightships. There is also a unique piece made especially for the exhibition by one of the last sailors to have worked aboard this type of ship.

“This presentation is the first of its kind in Quebec. Never before has any museum addressed the subject. I sincerely believe that this new exhibition dedicated to the brave crews who committed their lives to saving the lives of other sailors will be a memorable experience for visitors and an invaluable lesson in humanity for our times,” stated Museum Director Sophie Limoges.

Spotlight on our patrons

The museum team wishes to thank all the patrons of the new exhibition sponsored by Hydro-Québec: the Corporation des pilotes du Bas Saint-Laurent, the St. Lawrence Seaway Management Corporation, the Maritime Employers Association,

the Institut maritime du Québec, Norbert Morin, Member of the National Assembly,  Côte-du-Sud, and Bernard Généreux, Member of Parliament, – L’Islet – Kamouraska – Rivière-du-Loup.

The museum is subsidized by the Ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec and obtains financial support from the Department of Canadian Heritage.

The new temporary exhibition, Ships that sailed nowhere, is a Musée maritime du Québec – Capitaine J.E. Bernier endeavour that will be presented over the next two years.  In 2018, this bilingual exhibition will be an integral part of the special programming to highlight the museum’s 50 years of existence.

THE FRANKLIN EXPLORATION

Join us as we reawaken one of the largest manhunts in Canadian history: the search for the lost ships of the Franklin Expedition, an Arctic venture that went horribly wrong 170 years ago.

The story that has inspired folk songs and travel writing for over a century began in 1845, when British explorer Sir John Franklin set forth on a much-heralded Arctic expedition in pursuit of new scientific knowledge and hoping to find the Northwest Passage. Outfitted with two ships, HMS Erebus and HMS Terror, and a crew of 134 men, the Franklin expedition was, at the time, the best-equipped mission to venture into the Arctic waters. But three years later, Franklin, his crew, and his two ships still hadn’t returned home, prompting countless search efforts and capturing international attention.

The world’s fascination with this maritime riddle has only grown since the historic discovery of HMS Erebus in 2014, and most recently HMS Terror in 2016. Current archaeological excavation of the wreckage promises to expand our knowledge of the North, of the ocean, and of Franklin’s grisly fate.

The ROM’s new interactive pop-up display, The Franklin Exploration, is your source for learning about this incredible story as it evolves in real time. The pop-up display, which will be featured at ten venues across the country, puts the mysteries of Franklin’s tragic voyage into a historical context of science and exploration, looking at reasons behind the expedition and clues from early search efforts, and connects you to contemporary Arctic investigation, presenting the methodologies and findings of ongoing scientific research in Canada’s North.

This nationwide display is the cornerstone of The Franklin Network Outreach Project, an innovative, three-year initiative helmed by the ROM, in collaboration with Parks Canada and the History Museums Network. The ROM and its partners will showcase cutting-edge technology and remarkable findings about the Franklin Expedition through special events, topical lectures, and inspired public programming.

Stay tuned for information about upcoming Franklin Exploration events.

The Franklin Network

Over the next three years, The Franklin Network Outreach Project will bring fascinating material to museums from coast to coast, sharing underwater excavations, traditional Inuit knowledge, and exciting new discoveries. During this time, some of the Franklin Network members will execute outreach work and move their pop-up displays to different locations and cities. For the latest locations across Canada, search for The Franklin Exploration by using the map below!

[ Google Map – Network Partners ]

Join the Conversation

#MissionErebusTerror

#HMSErebus

#Franklin

#FranklinFriday

@ROMtoronto

@ParksCanada

@PCArchaeology

Donors

Canadians can engage with the Franklin story thanks to the generosity of donors, including Lead Exhibit Patron, The W. Garfield Weston Foundation; the Government of Canada; Arctic Research Foundation; Isles Foundation Incorporated–The John E. Irving Family; The WB Family Foundation; and Andrew and Valerie Pringle. It is a testament to their vision that Canadians from coast to coast have the opportunity to learn about this important piece of history.

The Royal Ontario Museum and Parks Canada are Developing Partners of the Franklin project.

_________________________________________

L’ATLANTIQUE EN RADEAU,  

88 JOURS À LA DÉRIVE

Depuis juillet 2016, le Musée présente l’exposition temporaire L’Atlantique en radeau, 88 jours à la dérive dans l’espace Chalouperie. L’exposition permet d’apprécier le radeau L’Égaré II, reproduit à l’échelle 1/3 et elle raconte, sous la forme d’un journal de bord illustré, l’odyssée incroyable de trois hommes et deux chats. Pour accompagner le propos, un documentaire de 15 minutes réalisé par Ryan Barnett est présenté en continu.

M. Beaudout est le seul membre de l’équipage encore vivant.

Bonne visite !

Skip to toolbar

Expositions temporaires

Une nouvelle exposition présentée à l’occasion des 50 ans du Musée que nous célébrons en 2018 :

ExpoBP_instagram_texteLogo

133 ans d’histoires

Par tous les temps, des hommes courageux ont consacré leur vie, dans des conditions difficiles, pour protéger celle des marins. L’exposition Ces bateaux qui n’allaient nulle part permet de découvrir et de comprendre cette vie unique à bord de ces navires à la vocation toute spéciale : signaliser la présence invisible du danger. À la fois chargé de projet, concepteur et rédacteur de l’exposition, le conservateur et spécialiste en patrimoine maritime Alain Franck souligne : « C’est un aspect véritablement méconnu de l’histoire maritime du Québec qui est présentée au grand public». Elle puise dans une recherche exhaustive rassemblée dans la publication Les bateaux-phares du Saint-Laurent en aval de Québec, 1830-1963 des auteurs Jean Cloutier et Jean-Pierre Charest.

Des artéfacts jamais présentés au grand public

L’exposition se consacre à l’évolution technique et architecturale des bateaux-feux, tout en dévoilant un aspect humain fascinant appuyé par de savoureuses citations des derniers témoins de cette époque révolue. Elle présente de manière inédite les différents postes de mouillage et des navires assignés, disséminés le long du fleuve, depuis le chenal sud de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent jusqu’à la pointe de l’Est de l’ile d’Anticosti.

Quelque 25 artéfacts provenant principalement d’anciens marins ayant travaillé sur ces bateaux-phares et de la collection du MMQ seront mis en scène. Parmi ces objets dévoilés au grand public pour la première fois, il y a le journal de bord ainsi que des instruments de navigation du capitaine Alfred Couillard, natif de Montmagny et , arrière-grand-père du Premier ministre québécois actuel, une roue à gouverner qui constitue l’un des rares vestiges matériels de cette époque révolue le dernier vestige d’un bateau-phare, des photographies et six maquettes de bateaux pour la plupart fabriquées par temps libre à bord d’un lightship, à l’exception d’une autre pièce inédite réalisée spécialement pour l’exposition par l’un des derniers marins ayant travaillé à bord de ce type de bâtiment.

« Cette présentation est la première du genre au Québec. Jamais auparavant aucune autre institution muséale n’a encore traité de ce sujet. Je crois sincèrement que cette nouvelle exposition dédiée à ces équipages courageux qui ont consacré leur vie à préserver celles des autres marins sera, pour ceux qui la visiteront, une expérience en même temps qu’une leçon d’humanité indispensable à notre temps » a déclaré la directrice générale du MMQ, Sophie Limoges.

Pleins feux sur les mécènes

L’équipe du Musée tient à remercier tous les mécènes de la nouvelle exposition présentée par Hydro-Québec : la Corporation des pilotes du Bas Saint-Laurent, la Corporation de Gestion de la Voie Maritime, l’Association des employeurs maritimes, l’Institut maritime du Québec, Norbert Morin député de Côte-du-Sud, Bernard Généreux député de Montmagny – L’Islet – Kamouraska – Rivière-du-Loup. Le Musée est subventionné par le ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec et bénéficie de la participation financière du ministère du Patrimoine canadien.

Frankling_ecrannum_1200x718

 SUR LES TRACES DE FRANKLIN

L’exposition portative se trouve dans la Galerie Sigmund Samuel du Canada au ROM et dans neuf autres institutions canadiennes dont le Musée maritime du Québec. Vérifiez régulièrement auprès des partenaires du réseau muséal de l’expédition Franklin pour connaitre les dernières nouvelles.

* Du nouveau! L’équipe d’archéologie subaquatique de Parcs Canada a confirmé la découverte du HMS Terror, le deuxième navire de la tragique expédition Franklin entreprise en 1845 pour découvrir le passage du Nord-Ouest. 

Revivez avec nous l’une des plus grandes expéditions de recherche de l’histoire canadienne en vue de retrouver les navires perdus de l’expédition Franklin, une aventure engagée dans l’Arctique voilà 170 ans qui s’est achevée tragiquement.

Cette histoire, qui a inspiré des chansons populaires et des récits de voyage pendant plus d’un siècle, débute en 1845, lorsque l’explorateur britannique sir John Franklin mène une expédition très attendue dans l’Arctique.

Cette mission vise à acquérir de nouvelles connaissances scientifiques et à découvrir le passage du Nord-Ouest. Avec deux navires, le HMS Erebus et le HMS Terror, et 134 hommes d’équipage, l’expédition Franklin dispose alors du meilleur équipement existant pour s’aventurer dans les eaux arctiques. Trois ans plus tard, sans nouvelles de Franklin, de son équipage et de ses navires, d’innombrables efforts de recherche sont déployés pour retrouver cette expédition qui mobilise l’attention internationale.

La fascination internationale suscitée par cette énigme maritime a redoublé depuis que Parcs Canada et ses partenaires ont découvert le HMS Erebus en 2014 et le HMS Terror en 2016. Les fouilles archéologiques effectuées aujourd’hui dans les épaves, conjuguées à la recherche du HMS Terror qui se poursuit, promettent d’élargir nos connaissances sur le Nord, l’océan et le sinistre destin de Franklin.

Le réseau Franklin

Sur les traces de Franklin, la nouvelle exposition interactive et portative du ROM, permet de suivre les différentes étapes de cette incroyable expédition. Présentée à des moments différents dans dix musées au pays, elle situe les mystères entourant le tragique voyage de Franklin dans le contexte historique des sciences et de l’exploration, examinant les mobiles de l’expédition et les indices laissés par les premiers efforts de recherche. L’exposition fait le lien avec les investigations actuellement menées dans l’Arctique et présente les méthodes et résultats de la recherche scientifique effectuée dans le Nord canadien.

Cette exposition à l’échelle nationale est la pierre angulaire du Projet Franklin, initiative novatrice dirigée par le ROM, en collaboration avec Parcs Canada et le réseau des musées d’histoire. Durant trois ans, le ROM et ses partenaires présenteront la technologie de pointe et les remarquables résultats relatifs à l’expédition Franklin par des activités spéciales, des conférences et une programmation inspirante.

Restez à l’écoute pour découvrir les activités à venir concernant le Projet Franklin.

Participez aux échanges sur le Projet Franklin

#MissionErebusTerror

#HMSErebus

#Franklin

#FranklinFriday

@ROMtoronto

@ParksCanada

@PCArchaeology

Donateurs

L’histoire de Franklin mobilisera les Canadiens grâce à la générosité de donateurs, dont la W. Garfield Weston Foundation, commanditaire de l’exposition; le gouvernement du Canada; l’Arctic Research Foundation; Isles Foundation Incorporated–The John E. Irving Family; la WB Family Foundation; et Andrew et Valerie Pringle. Leur vision permettra à tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes d’explorer cet événement marquant de notre histoire.

Le Musée royal de l’Ontario et Parcs Canada sont les partenaires et les porteurs du projet Sur les traces de Franklin.

Aller à la barre d’outils