Capitain Joseph-Elzéar Bernier

Captain Joseph-Elzéar BernierThe Museum commemorates the memory of Captain Joseph-Elzéar Bernier, a son of L’Islet and a career seafarer. He was one of the principal architects of Canadian sovereignty over the Arctic territories at the beginning of the 20th century. Joseph-Elzéar Bernier became a ship’s apprentice at age 14 and a captain at 17. He sailed across the Atlantic Ocean 250 times before venturing into the waters of the Far North. His story is a testimony to the life of a sailor during the age of the last great sailing ships.

The captain’s expeditions are etched in the collective memory of the Côte-du-Sud. With Bernier, the Caron, Morin, Chassé, Tremblay and Lemieux families experienced what no other human had experienced during the era. They sailed thousands of ice-filled waters during an era when the race to the North Pole was comparable to the conquest of space today.

It was in this locality founded in 1677 and populated by 4,000 that Bernier learned his trade as a sailor and developed a taste for adventure. L’Islet, formerly a hub of intense maritime activity, was the birthplace of some two hundred sailors, captains, ship owners and builders! It is rightly referred to as the sailors’ homeland.

In 2016, under the terms of the Cultural Heritage Act, the Government of Quebec designated Captain Joseph-Elzéar Bernier a historical figure.

Skip to toolbar

Capitaine Joseph-Elzéar Bernier

Le Musée perpétue la mémoire du capitaine Joseph-Elzéar Bernier, fils de L’Islet et navigateur de carrière, qui fut l’un des principaux artisans de la souveraineté canadienne sur les territoires arctiques au début du 20e siècle. Joseph-Elzéar Bernier est devenu mousse à 14 ans, puis capitaine à 17. Il a traversé l’océan Atlantique 250 fois avant de s’aventurer dans les eaux du Grand Nord. Son histoire est un témoignage de la vie de marin à l’époque des derniers grands voiliers.

Les expéditions du capitaine ont marqué la mémoire de la Côte-du-Sud. Aux côtés de Bernier, les Caron, Morin, Chassé, Tremblay et Lemieux ont vécu ce qu’aucun autre être humain n’avait vécu à l’époque. Ils ont parcouru des milles de territoires glacés à une époque où la course vers le pôle Nord était comparable à la conquête de l’espace aujourd’hui.

C’est dans cette localité de près de 4 000 habitants, fondée en 1677, que Bernier a appris son métier de marin et développé le goût pour l’aventure. L’Islet, qui a connu dans le passé une activité maritime intense, a vu naître quelque deux cents marins, capitaines, pilotes, armateurs et constructeurs de navires ! On la nomme à juste titre la Patrie des marins.

Aller à la barre d’outils