Museum Reserves

In 2009, the Musée maritime du Québec retrofitted its museum reserves. Today, the main building has four floors:

The first floor houses a museum reserve, the reception area, a café, gift shop and a landing dock. There is also the Boathouse, typical of maritime museums worldwide, attached to the main building (interpretation area for traditional watercraft).

The second floor features a mezzanine for cultural events and talks, a play area for children, a room dedicated solely to the memory of Captain J.E. Bernier and a 215 m2 exhibition hall that houses the permanent Sea Roots exhibition and flagship items of the Museum’s collections.

The third floor features another exhibition hall for temporary exhibitions and events.

On the fourth floor, the huge collection of 200 scale-model ships in the ship reserve is accessible to the public during guided tours. The models are not on display to showcase their beauty, but to facilitate their protection and handling by the conservation team.

Climate control is prevalent in each vault to ensure that items stored (based on their construction) are maintained under optimal conservation conditions. In the event of a power outage, a generator provides the power needed for all the reserves to maintain requisite environmental conditions.

Réserves muséales

En 2009, le Musée maritime du Québec a entrepris le réaménagement de ses réserves muséales. Aujourd’hui, l’édifice principal compte quatre niveaux :

Le premier étage se compose d’une réserve muséale, de l’accueil, d’un café, d’une boutique et d’un débarcadère. On y trouve également, annexée au bâtiment principal, une chalouperie (aire d’interprétation des embarcations traditionnelles) propre aux musées maritimes du monde.

Au deuxième étage, se trouve la mezzanine, où l’on présente des causeries et des événements culturels, un espace de jeux pour enfants, une salle entièrement dédiée à la mémoire du Capitaine J.E. Bernier, et une salle d’exposition de 215 mètres carrés qui accueille l’exposition permanente Racines de mer et qui présentent les objets phares des collections du Musée.

Le troisième étage présente une autre salle d’exposition qui peut accueillir des expositions temporaires ou des événements.

L’importante collection de 200 modèles réduits de bateaux de la chambre des maquettes est accessible au grand public en visite guidée, au quatrième étage. Les maquettes ne sont pas disposées pour être mises en valeur, mais pour en faciliter la protection et la manipulation par l’équipe de conservation.

Un contrôle du taux d’humidité et de la température pour chacune des voûtes, selon les matériaux des objets entreposés, garantit des conditions de conservation optimales. En cas de panne, une génératrice peut alimenter toutes les réserves et conserver les conditions environnementales.